The Glazer Law Office, PLLC: Professional Effective Aggressive Experienced Compassionate Committed Reliable Informed

Hi, my name is Sophia Augeri of the Glazer Law Office and today we’re going to be talking about some of the early potential consequences associated with a DUI.

When you’re charged with a DUI in Arizona it’s helpful to think of your case as involving two separate tracks. You have everything with Arizona Motor-Vehicle Division, also known as the MVD, and then you also have everything on the court side. Often times, some of the MVD ramifications have the potential to occur long before your case is resolved in court. When you’re arrested for a DUI, the officer will either provide you with an admin per se, an implied consent affidavit, which is a document that’s usually a pink or yellow sheet, or sometimes both. Or, you’ll receive a notice from the MVD after your arrest indicating that a suspension will go into affect.

What both of these documents say, is that 15 days after the date that you were served with them, your license will be suspended for 90 days, one year, or longer, depending on the circumstances.

The exception is if you do one of two things. If you either request a hearing, or request summary review, then a ‘stay’ will be placed on the suspension, so that you can continue to legally drive beyond the 15-day timeframe.

Summary review is only available in non-refusal cases. If you request a hearing or summary review, then your license will not be suspended at least up until the time that you have that hearing and the administrative law judge makes a decision, or they rule on the summary review request.

Now, summary review involves technical deficiency on the face of the admin per se, so it may be helpful to consult an attorney to see if your case is appropriate for summary review. Otherwise, a hearing involves actually appearing before an administrative law judge, and the officer is given notice that he has to appear as well. Its important to remember that the standard of proof is much lower in these hearing than it is in court, which as you may know, is beyond a reasonable doubt.

If the suspension is upheld at the hearing, then your license will be suspended for either 90 days, one year, or longer, depending on the circumstances. If your license is suspended for 90 days, you may qualify for restricted driving privileges after serving the first 30 days of the suspension. Restricted driving privileges would allow you to drive to and from work, to and from school, and to and from scheduled appointments.

If your license is suspended for one year, you may qualify for something called a special ignition interlock restricted driver license. That would allow you to drive to and from work, to and from school, and to and from scheduled appointments, so long as you have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.

In order to qualify for a SIIRDL, you first have to serve 90 days of the suspension without any riving once so ever.

My name is Sophia Augeri, and if you have any questions about you DUI case feel free to contact The Glazer Law Office at 928-213-9253.

Hi, my name is Sophia Augeri of the Glazer Law Office and today we’re going to be talking about simple DUIs.

The first, is if you were driving while impaired to the slightest degree. The secons is if your blood, or breath alcohol content level was a .08 or higher, and the lst is if you were charged with a drug DUI.

A simple DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor. It’s technically punishable by up to six months in jail, but that is very uncommon in first offense simple DUI cases. What’s way more common is to see the mandatory minimum jail time imposed. The mandatory minimum jail time for a simple DUI is 10 days in jail, but the judge can decide to suspend 10 of those days if you choose to undergo a alcohol or substrance abuse screening and any recommended follow-up treatment. If you do that, nine of the days go away, reducing it down to one day, and if you were booked in jail then you will receive credit for time served, which means you likely won’t have to do any more jail time.

There are also substantial court fines associated with a DUI, as well as the possibility of probation, depending on whether or not the judge thinks that’s appropriate. Same thing with community service and something called a DUI impact panel, which is essentially a panel of individuals who speak to how their lives have been effected by DUI in some way.

There are also MVD ramification s associated with a simple DUI conviction. There’s a 90 day license suspension, unless you’ve already served you administrative license suspension, in which you license will not be suspended again unless you already have a significant number of points. You’ll also have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for one year, with the possibility of early deferment after six months, if you’re compliant during the first six months and if you complete something called alcohol education or DUI education. It place eight points on your driving record, which usually results in an order to attend traffic survival school. You may, or may not, have to obtain something called SR-22 insurance.

If you have any questions about you DUI case feel free to contact The Glazer Law Office at 928-213-9253.

Hi, my name is Sophia Augeri of the Glazer Law Office and today we’re going to be talking about first offense extreme DUIs in Arizona.

An extreme DUI conviction is a class 1 misdemeanor, technically punishable by up to six months in jail, but its very uncommon to see six months of jail imposed. What’s far more common is to see the mandatory minimum imposed, which is 30 days in jail, and even then the judge can take away 21 of those days if you agree to equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device for one year, which the MVD will require you to do anyways.

If you agree to equip your motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device, the jail time is reduced down to nine days, and many jurisdictions have something called a work furlough program, or school furlough program, which will allow you to get out of jail after serving the first two days upfront.

Other jurisdictions have a home detention program, which would allow you to serve the rest of your time, after serving a few days upfront, at home on home arrest.

There are substantial fines associated with a extreme DUI conviction, and the judge also has the discretion to impose probation, community service, and something called a DUI impact panel, which is essentially a panel of individuals whose lives have been effected by DUI in some way.

An extreme DUI conviction also comes with mandatory alcohol or substance abuse screening, and any of the recommended follow-up treatment.

Additionally, there are MVD ramifications associated with an extreme DUI conviction. There’s a license suspension for 90 days if you haven’t already served your admin per se suspension. There’s a possibility of SR-22 insurance. You have to have the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one year, or longer if the judge orders it for longer. It places 8 points on your motor-vehicle record, which in turn generates an order for you to attend traffic survival school.

If you have any questions about you DUI case feel free to contact The Glazer Law Office at 928-213-9253.

Hi, my name is Sophia Augeri of the Glazer Law Office and today we’re going to be talking about super extreme DUIs.

You’ve likely been charged with a super extreme DUI if your BAC was a .20 or higher. A super extreme DUI conviction in Arizona is class 1 misdemeanor, technically punishable by up to six months in jail. It’s very uncommon to 6 months of jail time imposed. What’s way more common is to see the mandatory minimum time, which is 45 days.

But, the judge can actually take away 31 of those days, if you agree to equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device. If you do that the jail time can be reduced down to 14 days., and many jurisdiction sin Arizona have a work furlough or school furlough program, which would allow you to get out of jail after serving a certain amount of time upfront. Other jurisdictions have a home detention program that would allow you to serve the rest of your time, after serving a few days upfront, at home on home arrest.

There are substantial fines associated with a Extreme DUI, as well as the possibility of probation, community service, and something called a DUI impact panel, or a victim impact panel, which is a panel of individuals whose lives have been effected by DUI in some way.

There are also MVD ramifications if you’re convicted of a super extreme DUI. You will have to serve a 90 day license suspension, unless you have already served an administrative suspension prior to your case being resolved. You may, or may not, have to obtain something called SR-22 insurance, and you’ll have to equip your vehicle with something called an ignition interlock device for a year and a half. You’ll also have to undergo a substance abuse screening and any recommended follow up treatment, and the conviction will place 8 points on your motor-vehicle record, which will in turn generate an order for you to attend traffic survival school.

If you have any questions about you DUI case feel free to contact The Glazer Law Office at 928-213-9253.

We Offer Free Case Consultation. Call, Today.